Lehigh Valley Native Releases New Historical Novel


Morning Glory: A Novel of the First Great Awakening

Rebecca Price Janney

Spiritual Renewal Comes to America!


In 1739, American colonists are living in a state of spiritual despair. Signs of life have appeared to some—bringing hope. Catherine Harrison and her father are believers, but he’s desperately ill, and her mother’s choice is for Catherine to marry the wealthy magistrate’s son. Pastor Harrison sends his daughter to William Tennent’s “Log College” with an urgent summons—“Get the German.”

Henry Sharp, the German, is looking for a position when Catherine shows up at the Tennents’ home bearing her father’s mysterious directive. At last, Henry hears, “This is the way, go in it.” But the path is neither easy nor simple. He faces immediate opposition from the church, and he isn’t free to pursue his affections for Catherine.

When the elders force Henry to leave, George Whitefield, evangelist extraordinaire, invites him on a tour through the southern colonies. Catherine sees a potential relationship with Henry slip away. Just before Henry and Whitefield return to Philadelphia months later, Catherine faces a new crisis. Might she have a second chance with Henry?

Morning Glory captures the spirit of the thirteen colonies during the First Great Awakening, which forever changed America and its people. Readers will recognize Whitefield, Benjamin Franklin, and Jonathan Edwards. This is the first book in a series about revivals which shaped American history. Available through Amazon and your local bookstore.

About the Author:

Rebecca Price Janney is the award-winning author of twenty-two books, including her beloved Easton Series. A member of the Daughters of the American Revolution, she earned degrees in history from Lafayette College, Princeton Seminary, and Biblical Seminary. She’s a popular speaker at civic and patriotic organizations, historical societies, schools, libraries, churches, and synagogues, and appears regularly on radio. Her weekly podcast, “Great Stories in American History,” has been gaining a steady following. Rebecca resides with her husband, son, and a slightly spoiled spaniel in Pennsylvania’s Lehigh Valley.

Dr. Rebecca Price Janney
Author of 22 Books /Historian/Speaker
Podcast: “Great Stories in American History with Rebecca Price Janney”– https://anchor.fm/rebeccapricejanney


Morning Glory: A Novel of the First Great Awakening

Rebecca Price Janney

ISBN: 978-1-948888-88-2, Trade Paperback $12.99

ISBN: 978-1-948888-89-9, Paperback $12.99

ISBN: 978-1-948888-90-5, e-book $4.99

For more information about Morning Glory, visit www.elklakepublishinginc.com – www.rebeccapricejanney.com.

Press Release By:
Elk Lake Publishing, Inc.