Thousands flood T-Town for season finale at Valley Preferred Cycling Center


TREXLERTOWN, Pa. – The fans poured through the front gate, the grill at Vince’s Cheesesteaks sizzled for hours, the School’s Out Band rocked the plaza, and the Fireworks Extravaganza, presented by the Schmoyer Funeral Home, Trexler Funeral Home, and the J.S. Burkholder Funeral Home, sent everyone home with a smile on their face.

The 2016 World Series of Bicycling season ended on Friday night with the Madison Cup/Air Products Finals.

The feature event, the Madison Cup, was the final race of the 2016 season and was won by the team of Bobby Lea and Nich Stopler.

Additionally, there were five Air Products scratch races for the various categories of Air Products Developmental Cycling Programs. Jeshua Fairweather, Ryujin Jenson, Jamie Hibell, Isabell Staskowski, and Ian Siglag all won their respective races.

The Univest Rider of the Year competition was over before the night even began as Matt Rotherham of Great Britain and Missy Erickson of Mertztown, Pennsylvania won the men’s and women’s competitions, respectively.

During the final intermission of the night, Bobby Phillips and Joe Saling were inducted into the T-Town Hall of Fame as the two members of the 2016 Induction Class.

Masters riders raced on Friday night as well as stagiaires. Patrick Gellineau, who is a T-Town Hall of Fame member himself and is 63 years old, won the first stagiaires event of the evening.

Nima Ebrahimnejad won the masters omnium, Tom Rotherham won the men’s omnium and B.J. Olson won the stagiaires omnium.

The women competed in the stagiaires category, but had one race for their own, a 3km motor scratch. Colleen Gulick won that race.

The night, and the 2016 World Series of Bicycling, were capped off with a Fireworks Extravaganza presented by the Schmoyer Funeral Home, the Trexler Funeral Home, and the J.S. Burkholder Funeral Home.                                                                      


Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab


Information Provided By:
Tyler Trumbauer
PR/Communications Assistant
Valley Preferred Cycling Center