Bethlehem Chamber Announces Priscilla Payne Hurd Award Recipient

en flag
es flag

The Bethlehem Chamber of Commerce has announced their final award recipient for the Priscilla Payne Hurd award. The Priscilla Payne Hurd award is presented to an individual who has impacted and influenced the enhancement of life in the Bethlehem community through the arts, education or health care.

This year’s recipient is Deborah Sacarakis, who is a lifelong resident of the City of Bethlehem. She attended Bethlehem Area Public Schools and graduated with a B.A. in Theatre from Lambuth University in Jackson, TN, now Memphis State. Returning to Bethlehem, PA in 1974, she accepted a position with the Chaplain’s Office at Lehigh University. While at Lehigh she also served as the Cultural Affairs Coordinator, developing an annual presenting series for the university, and as the advisor for the Visiting Lecturers Committee. She accepted the leadership role in the dedicatory and inaugural seasons of the Zoellner Arts Center. Deborah continued serving the university and Zoellner Arts Center as Artistic Director until her retirement in 2019.

Ms. Sacarakis has served on the board of directors for the Mayfair Festival in Allentown, PA and for Pennsylvania Presenters, a state-wide service organization. She served terms on Pennsylvania Presenters executive board as president and vice-president. She has served on grant adjudication panels for the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania Council on the Arts, the New Jersey Council on the Arts, Dance Advance of Philadelphia and the Berks County Arts Council. Ms. Sacarakis currently serves on the Board of ArtsQuest as a member of the programming committee and on The Fine Arts Commission of the City of Bethlehem.

The Bethlehem Chamber will also celebrate these following award recipients:

Strategic Partner Award

This award is given to a business or an organization that has enhanced the Bethlehem Community and/or The Bethlehem Chamber with a spirit of volunteerism and/or support in multiple arenas.

Award Recipient: City of Bethlehem Health Bureau

Milestone Award

This award is given to a business that is a member of the Chamber celebrating a significant anniversary.

Award Recipients: Historic Hotel Bethlehem – 100 years and Cantelmi Hardware – 100 years.

Downtown Vision Award

This award is given to those who have a clear goal for how they see the future of their downtown and they don’t just talk about it, they make it happen.

Award Recipient: Lehigh Valley With Love Media

Community Partner Award

This award is given to an organization whose work directly impacts the wellbeing of its business community, in addition to having a clear mission to give back.

Award Recipients: Northampton County & Lehigh County

Tickets and sponsorship opportunities are still available. Please contact to learn more.

WHEN: Thursday, May 26th from 5:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.

WHERE: Historic Hotel Bethlehem, 437 Main St, Bethlehem, PA 18018

Presenting Sponsor: Capital Blue Cross

Sponsored by: Allied Building Corporation, Alvin H. Butz, Inc., Astound Business Solutions, B. Braun Medical, Capital Blue Cross, East Stroudsburg University, Fulton Bank, Gross McGinley, Historic Hotel Bethlehem, Just Born Quality Confections, LVHN, Moravian University, Service Electric Business, Univest, West Side Hammer Electric, and Working Dog Press.

DETAILS: 2022 Bethlehem Annual Awards Reception

Information provided to TVL by:
Tammy Wendling
SVP of Bethlehem Initiatives, Bethlehem Chamber of Commerce
Bethlehem Chamber of Commerce