Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges Announces 29th Annual All-Pennsylvania Academic Team Scholars

en flag
es flag

Sixty-four Community College Students Recognized
for Academic Excellence and Community Service

HARRISBURG (March 28, 2023) – The Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges today announced the 29th annual All-Pennsylvania Academic Team, consisting of 64 students representing 14 community colleges from across the Commonwealth. The honor recognizes high achieving college students who demonstrate academic excellence and intellectual rigor combined with leadership and service that extends their education beyond the classroom to benefit society.

The students are selected for the All-Pennsylvania Academic Team based on a nomination and application process. The 2023 scholars include 48 Transfer Pathway students and 16 Workforce Pathway students.

Transfer Pathway honorees plan to transfer to a four-year college after graduation. They must have completed at least 36 credits at a community college with a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher. Pennsylvania’s community colleges partner with the Pennsylvania State System of Higher Education to provide scholarships to Transfer Pathway students, providing two years of tuition at any PASSHE school.

Workforce Pathway student honorees plan to enter the workforce after completing a certificate or associate degree at a community college. Workforce Pathway students must have a minimum of 12 college-level credit hours at a community college and a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher.

“We are so pleased to honor these scholars,” said PACCC President and CEO Elizabeth Bolden. “They are outstanding and accomplished students from a variety of backgrounds and disciplines. They are applying their intellectual skills to make lasting contributions to their colleges and communities. And they showcase that Pennsylvania’s community colleges are educating and training tomorrow’s leaders.”

Students who receive the highest application scores in each state in the All-USA Community College Academic Team program are named Coca-Cola New Century Transfer Pathway Scholars and Coca-Cola New Century Workforce Pathway Scholars.

  • Emma Hope, a Lehigh Carbon Community College student, is Pennsylvania’s New Century Transfer Pathway Scholar, which comes with a $2,250 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Educational Foundation.
  • Vance Hagarman, a student of HACC, Central Pennsylvania’s Community College, is Pennsylvania’s New Century Workforce Pathway Scholar, which comes with a $1,250 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Educational Foundation.

The Pennsylvania Transfer Pathway Scholars also include the following Coca-Cola Gold, Silver and Bronze Scholars who receive $1,500, $1,250 and $1,000 scholarships respectively:

  • Esma Alagic, Coca-Cola Gold Scholar, HACC, Central Pennsylvania’s Community College
  • Adrianna Farrel, Coca-Cola Gold Scholar, Pennsylvania Highlands Community College
  • Seong Kim, Coca-Cola Gold Scholar, Northampton Community College
  • Jacee Serak, Coca-Cola Gold Scholar, Community College of Beaver County
  • Mark Petrik, Coca-Cola Silver Scholar, Northampton Community College
  • Kaitlyn Seawood, Coca-Cola Silver Scholar, Northampton Community College
  • Paige Klinger, Coca-Cola Bronze Scholar, Westmoreland County Community College

The All-USA Community College Academic Team is sponsored by Cengage, with additional support provided by Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society (PTK) and the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC). The New Century Scholars program is sponsored by The Coca-Cola Foundation, Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation, PTK and the AACC.

The members of this year’s All-Pennsylvania Academic Team listed by community college are:

Community College of Allegheny County

Transfer Scholars

  • Owen Chaffin of Bethel Park
  • Alexis Clawson of McKeesport
  • Elena Dupaly of New Kensington
  • Sydney Hubbard of Pittsburgh
  • Uday Sharma of Moon Township
  • Bridget Sluka of New Stanton
  • Jessica Wheeler of Monongahela
  • Maximos Wolfley of Pittsburgh

Workforce Pathway Scholars

  • Nicole Galla of Clairton
  • Shawn Klocek of Pittsburgh
  • Justin Maga of Washington

Community College of Beaver County

Transfer Scholars

  • Lucy Rabak of Beaver
  • Jacee Serak of Baden

Bucks County Community College

Transfer Scholars

  • Diane Bauman of Quakertown
  • Brianna DiGiacomo of Perkasie
  • Tara Dyson of Perkasie
  • Justin Maher of Philadelphia
  • Olympia Ransom of Doylestown

Workforce Pathway Scholar

  • Kristina Gibbs of Quakertown

Butler County Community College

Transfer Scholars

  • Olivia Collins of Butler
  • Maddison Tripp of Sarver

Workforce Pathway Scholar

  • Alison Humes of Sharon
  • Jordan Miller of Dubois

Delaware County Community College

Transfer Scholars

  • Steven Feeney of Toughkenamon
  • Megan Grant of Darby
  • Amber Riley of Exton
  • Ariel Whaley of West Chester

Workforce Pathway Scholars

  • Raven Amaro of Media
  • Maeve Salla of Drexel Hill

Harrisburg Area Community College

Transfer Scholars

  • Esma Alagic of Mountville
  • Dawanda Bentley of York
  • Polina Bolotnikova of York
  • Michelle Dixon of Jonestown
  • Olena Ivashchuk of Mechanicsburg
  • Jasmine Ramos of Lancaster

Workforce Pathway Scholars

  • Vance Hagarman of Hanover
  • Megan Seeger of New Cumberland
  • Miranda Wenger of Denver

Lehigh Carbon Community College

Transfer Scholars

  • Emma Hope of Tamaqua
  • Evangelique Myers of Whitehall

Luzerne County Community College

Transfer Scholars

  • Gina Ditalia of Berwick
  • Jasmine Talbot of Harveys Lake

Montgomery County Community College

Transfer Scholars

  • Omar Ali of Horsham
  • Taylor Bellegue of Norristown

Workforce Pathway Scholar

  • Anthony Gibase of Norwood

Northampton Community College

Transfer Scholars

  • Seong Kim of Stroudsburg
  • Mark Petrik of Bethlehem
  • Kaitlyn Seawood of Blakeslee
  • Jaileen Soto of Bethlehem

Workforce Pathway Scholar

  • Christian Stezelberger of Slatington

Pennsylvania Highlands Community College

Transfer Scholars

  • Kylee Fabo of Summerhill
  • Adrianna Farrell of Northern Cambria
  • Emma Martz of Herlin
  • Bri Pavkovich of Rockwood
  • Jessica Shockey of Friedens

Workforce Pathway Scholars

  • Jeffrey Matevish of Johnstown
  • Rebecca Perrone of Northern Cambria

Community College of Philadelphia

Transfer Scholars

  • Elivett Sanchez Ortiz of Philadelphia
  • Abigail Thomas of Philadelphia

Reading Area Community College

Transfer Scholars

  • Siobhan Houghton of Fleetwood
  • Emely Morban of Reading

Westmoreland County Community College

Transfer Scholars

  • Paige Klinger of Export
  • Calista Trout of Irwin

Workforce Pathway Scholar

  • Abraham Smith of Vandergrift

About Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges

The Pennsylvania Commission for Community Colleges is a nonprofit, volunteer membership association and the primary advocate for Pennsylvania’s 15 community colleges. Members include the college presidents, members of the colleges’ boards of trustees and key college administrators. PACCC provides leadership on issues affecting the colleges and represents the collective needs, vision and values of the colleges to state and federal policymakers. It also assists the colleges in developing positions on their areas of concern, acts as a liaison and facilitator to share information, and coordinates data collection on a statewide level to support the colleges’ advocacy efforts.



Information provided to TVL by:
Jason Kirsch